New Ytest
Sign out
Bimmerpost
Login
BMW E39 5-Series Forum | 5Post.com
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts  
Go Back   BMW E39 5-Series Forum | 5Post.com > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > General BMW News and Cars Discussion

03-24-2011, 11:25 AM   #1
halohead52
Private
United_States
Rep

Drives: 2011 X3 TS w/Mojave

Garage List
2011 F25 28i  [0.00]
2006 E46 330 CiC  [0.00]
BMW Bicycle Rack

Has anyone used the BMW bicycle rack? In particular, I'm interested in how the advertised "lifter" works, and whether it works well--thanks!
Appreciate 0
      03-24-2011, 12:09 PM   #2
abcommercial
Second Lieutenant
Rep

Drives: TBD

I have no experience with the specific rack you mention, though I have seen it. The lifter mechanism seems unecessary IMHO, unless you are a tiny/short woman or have an unusually tall vehicle. I'm more about simplicity.

I have tried the "race cycle" rack, which requires the BMW base plus the race-cycle attachment. The bike mounts by removing the front wheel and using the fork. It's a pretty low-clearance design (due to wheel removal), which seems to work well. I traded it out for a custom hitch and rack.

My solution was to have a custom hitch built by Master Hitch for my 325i. It's a modification to a hitch designed specifically for the 325xi. The modification involved forming a bend somehow, not sure if by cutting or welding, to accomodate a slight difference between the i and xi model. The hitch rack I installed is the Yakima Holdup, which desirably holds the bikes by the wheels, without contacting the frame. The rack folds up when not in use. When folded up, the top of the rack does not extend above the trunk.