BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

02-09-2008, 10:54 AM   #1
ersatzS2
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: 135i

135 overpriced? Not if you tally up the features...

Since I'm new to bmw's I am catching up on my reading of various forums. Over on an M3 forum there is a lot of grousing about the "over-priced" one series. I couldn't care less about the M3/335/135 comparisons myself; All bmws have looked to me to be overblown and barge-like for a five years, and the appeal of the 1-series to me is exactly because it is so compact, and an ideological turn toward compact sports-sedan roots.

However, the more I read, the more it seems like even on it's merits, exactly the opposite is true: The 135 is an extraordinary value relative to other bimmers on a pure feature to feature basis.

Three examples:

Performance: The 1 is going to be a chip away from contending with an M3/M5 in HP. Time will tell what the suspension can really do but all the fundamentals are there to make this a sweet handling car.
Options: I just read in another thread that comfort access as an option costs half on the 1 as on a 5-series. Betcha if you surveyed other options you'd find the same dynamic... Buy a 1, get your options at 50% off?
Other Features: I was over on the Dinan site the other night- have you SEEN what they charge for their big-brake kits? >$6K! Obviously there are M3 customers who want fixed caliper brembos and paying 15% of the entire price of a 135 to upgrade. Out of sympathy for those other poor slobs suckered into overpaying by the halo-effect of past glories, I won't even mention the Dinan pricetag of upgrading to forced induction...
      02-09-2008, 11:28 AM   #2
Yoot1
Private First Class
United_States
Rep