BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > M3 (E90 / E92 / E93) > General M3 Forum (E90 + E92 + E93)

Mporium BMW

12-20-2007, 09:10 PM   #1
VictorH
Major
Rep
Drives: '09 M3

Arrow Just back from M3 test drive in Germany

I'm a newbie here, but have been visiting for some months. I just got back from a trip to Germany and got to drive the new M3. I thought I'd post some of my opinions on the car.

Background: I am interested in buying a "sports car" in the next few months. My requirements are 4 seats, reasonable trunk space, suitable as a daily driver and best possible performance for track use (I do 2-3 DE's per year).
BMWUSA was no help at all in terms of setting up a test drive as I've been to Germany 3 times this year. Basically, they just told me, "You need to set it up yourself." I guess they figure these cars will just sell themselves. Needless to say, so far have not been impressed by their salesmanship. I've never owned a BMW but I like the marque, have toured both the Spartanburg and Regensburg factories and been to the BMW museum on different visits.

I was able to arrange a test drive in Munich through one of the local dealers and they were super.
My thoughts as follows:
DISCLAIMER: I am not a BMW expert, and these are just my opinions. You may or may not agree with them, I'm only posting because I thought they might be helpful for someone in a similar position.

Exterior: This has been discussed. In person, the car is very appealing and somewhat understated. Doesn't really look all that aggressive in my opinion, but the lines overall are very nice. The only feature I don't care about is the "power dome." You see it through the window all the time and I don't think it adds anything, but I understand it's necessary for engine clearance.