11-01-2013, 12:29 PM   #1
Shaw
Lieutenant Colonel
Canada
Rep
Drives: 2016 X5 35d | 2019 X3 30i

Garage List
Trade-in vs. private sell

I know this might have been asked many times...
I am probably looking at purchasing the new X5 (replacing the X3).
My 2011 X3 28i's mileage has only 19,000km (12,000miles) on it...so a very attractive used car.
The dealer is suggesting a price that I think is $4-5k lower than market value. I know they offer wholesale auction prices...
I'm also aware of the tax saving incentives that I get by trade-in.
So typically the question is, does it make sense to sell the car private and get more money or do the trade-in. I've never sold a car private before so any thoughts from experienced folks here is much appreciated...
Appreciate 0
      11-01-2013, 12:42 PM   #2
trev230
Captain
Rep
Drives: 2022 M5C

Sometimes it works. For example I just traded our 2012 Tahoe on a ML350 for my wife.

I listed the Tahoe in our local Autotrader. A wholesaler contacted me right away and offered X amount for it. That number was higher by $2500K that what the dealer offered for trade in value.

When I went to purchase the new vehicle I told them I would handle my trade on my own and had an offer much higher than the one they provided. They came back to the table with something about $1000 less, which in turn was really the same because of the tax savings of doing everything in one transaction and the same place.

I did the same thing when I purchased my X5 and it worked almost exactly the same way.
Appreciate 0
      11-01-2013, 06:46 PM   #3
chrisny
Brigadier General
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2020 X5 40i