E90Post

Coby Wheel

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > In between Details

03-30-2013, 05:42 AM   #1
pugxs
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: E46 330ci Sport

In between Details

Hadn't washed my car for quite some time (had been ill and busy with work) so gave the car a detail yesterday. Involved was:

Rinse with Karcher PW
Wash with lambs wool mitt 2BM
Dry with AG drying towel
Bilt Hamber clay bar
Autoglym SRP
Farcela G3 Wax

I'm relatively new to detailing so these are just things I have picked up reading various forums etc. Any pointers welcome.

My question is it possible to wash the car without stripping he wax off and then having to do it all again.

I like to wash my car every 2 or 3 weeks. I've just bought the pressure washer and was thinking of getting an autobrite foam lance. Would this be good enough to strip the dirt between details without taking the wax off?

Also if anyone can recommend a better wax that would be great. Only got the G3 to get used to waxing without spending mega money first.
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2013, 06:36 AM   #2
BimmerW
Private
Rep
Drives: BMW E90 320d/320i

Hey pal,

Well pics first!

Yeah, a foam lance is OK...but for a better finish, just shampoo over and wash, a lot of shampoos come with Carnauba wax so helps top up that shine, check out AutoSmart, they have some good shampoos.

Just make sure you don't use anything strong like fair liquid or APC and you'll be fine!
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2013, 12:49 PM   #3
DMH-01
Captain
Rep
Drives: E92 335d M Sport

You'd be better off using a decent citrus pre-wash through a pump sprayer. Look at Valet Pro Citrus Pre-wash, it's wax safe and a lot better cleaner than snow foams.

Then give the car a wash with a wax safe shampoo (Dodo Juice BTBM is my favourite).

Once you've dried it use a QD to top up the protection. There's plenty on the market but I tend to use FK425.
Appreciate 0
      03-31-2013, 06:13 AM   #4
jimbo666