E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > Hi, new to the forum

03-22-2009, 10:41 PM   #1
JeepJeep
ಠ_ಠ
United_States
Rep
Drives: everywhere

Hi, new to the forum

Hi all! New to the forum (but i've been lurking for about 2-3 weeks - methodtim, youre hilarious btw), and I got some questions

I just got hired for a job that pays $15 dollars an hour (I'm a college student, so this is freakin amazing) and I was thinking about some numbers. I currently own an '02 Jeep Grand Cherokee and i was thinking if i sold that and used the money on a down payment (probably put 6k-8k down), i could lease a 335i Sedan for around $560 a month.

Now I'm expected to work around 15-25 hours a week, which gives me around $750 a month (after taxes). This leaves me a generous amount of room for gas (i don't drive that much) and unforseen expenses.

I wanted to hear peoples opinions on whether this is plausible or not. Should I look at a 328i instead of a 335? Should i just forget leasing all-together cuz im in college? Etc. etc.

Also a few random questions: What exactly is the difference between leather and leatherette? And what is BMW Select in regards to leasing? Is it worth it to go BMW?
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2009, 10:45 PM   #2
-=Hot|Ice=-
Been There, Done That.
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2013 BMW M3

Awesome! I get paid $15 and hour and I got a 328xi coupe. I too am in college and I'm leasing. Right now, you can probably get a 335i for a good price. It's certainly worth it to go BMW. Welcome to the site and post pics when you pic her up!

Are you looking to get a sedan or coupe? pricing can be more negotiable.

Leather is well real leather. Leatherette is fake leather. Some prefer leatherette because they say it breathes better and it's easier to maintain.

I have a 328xi coupe with the premium package, cold weather package. I put 0 down. I'm paying 600 a month.
Appreciate 0