E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > Why Do I Have Low Oil Pressure after Oil Change?

03-16-2009, 02:51 PM   #1
jhawk
Rep
Drives: 330xi

Why Do I Have Low Oil Pressure after Oil Change?

I changed the oil in my '06 330xi yesterday. There were no problems, everything went smoothly. But now, I have a yellow "Service Info" warning coming up: yellow oil can without the waves under the oil can. The owners manuel says this is a low oil pressure warning. I've been changing the oil on my cars for over 25 years. This is the first time this has happened.

The oil level is ok when I check it, but the word "Inactive" appears beneath the oil level monitor. Nothing else is there, just the oil monitor bar and "Inactive"

I did reset the computer after the oil change. So, why am I getting the low oil pressure warning?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      03-16-2009, 08:00 PM   #2
Oulixes
Lieutenant Colonel
Rep
Drives: 330xi, 335i

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhawk View Post
I changed the oil in my '06 330xi yesterday. ... I have a yellow "Service Info" warning coming up: yellow oil can without the waves under the oil can.

... why am I getting the low oil pressure warning?
My car is the same model as yours, and in addition to the oil service the dealer does, I too have done a few oil changes on my own. I cannot help you, since I've never had the same problem as you describe, but would like to post at least an encouragement. The only oil change minor irregularity my car exhibited was the behavior of the oil level gauge. After oil drainig and installing the correct volume of oil, the oil level gauge always displayed a level one bar short for approximately thirty miles, then the gauge settled on the correct level corresponding to the installed volume.

This may be unrelated: