Bimmerpost
/
4 Series
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
2019+ BMW 3 AND 4-SERIES FORUMS (G2x Generation) Ordering / Pricing / Order Tracking Forum Question about custom order

06-06-2021, 07:26 PM   #1
motherkin
Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: g05 45e

Question about custom order

Hi folks, this is my first time ordering a BMW and I have some questions.

Background - I am waiting for MY 22 but who knows if it will be released in July. I don't want to order the MY 21 now because many options are missing.

1. My dealer told me to place an order for July production now to "secure" the allocation and available rebates.
- What does placing an order actually mean? What if MY 22 is still not released in July?
- Does the negotiation of pricing happens now or later?

2. They said the $1000 deposit is refundable, is this true? (in California)
Appreciate 0
      06-06-2021, 08:11 PM   #2
jg4c
Captain
Rep
Drives: 2022 M340i XDrive

Quote:
Originally Posted by motherkin View Post

Background - I am waiting for MY 22 but who knows if it will be released in July. I don't want to order the MY 21 now because many options are missing.

1. My dealer told me to place an order for July production now to "secure" the allocation and available rebates.
- What does placing an order actually mean? What if MY 22 is still not released in July?

All good questions, and not many answers yet.
I'm in contact with a dealer here on the east coast and should have some answers tomorrow, Monday.

I just asked similar questions as yours, of someone who posted ordering a 2022 330e.

I'd be cautious of any dealer who locks you into a grand to "secure" an allocation. Check your state for refundable deposits on cars.
You'd be surprised, that a lot of deposits are non refundable.

Unless they put it in writing, that under any circumstance you can walk away, at any time, and get your deposit back.

There are no prices out yet for the 2022's, so there is nothing to
negotiate yet.