E90Post

Extreme Powerhouse

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Tracking, Autocrossing, Dragstrip, Driving Techniques > Shift point

08-06-2008, 11:13 PM   #1
blipblip
Private First Class
United_States
Rep
Drives: e90 335i, 2008 M6

Shift point

Hi guys,
I just bough a E90 335i and will start tracking it soon (once it is broken in...)

A question though:
Judging from the spec sheet of our car, I think shifting at around 6000RPM rather than winding it out to redline is more efficient, and may even help with cooling. Is this observation correct?

(btw, I am an experienced track driver, albeit with other cars...
      08-06-2008, 11:15 PM   #2
longodj
Major
United_States
Rep
Drives: 135i

Garage List
2007 335xi  [0.00]
1974 VW Beetle  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by blipblip View Post
Hi guys,
I just bough a E90 335i and will start tracking it soon (once it is broken in...)

A question though:
Judging from the spec sheet of our car, I think shifting at around 6000RPM rather than winding it out to redline is more efficient, and may even help with cooling. Is this observation correct?

Yep, that's how I do it. I may even shift a bit earlier as our power starts tapering after 5500 stock and I don't have an O/C yet....soon hopefully!
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2008, 11:55 PM   #3
blipblip
Private First Class
United_States
Rep
Drives: e90 335i, 2008 M6

Thank you.

Cheers!
      08-08-2008, 01:18 PM   #4
leftcoastman
Lieutenant Colonel
Rep
Drives: 335i

Quote:
Originally Posted by blipblip View Post
Hi guys,

A question though:

It isn't as simple as looking at the dyno.

You need to map out the dyno for your specific car and apply gear ratios. What you're trying to determine is the TORQUE TO THE GROUND, which is very dependent on gearing.