E90Post

Studio RSR

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > power steering whine

12-24-2018, 07:05 AM   #1
flacon01
United Kingdom
Rep
Drives: BMW E92 325i Facelift

power steering whine

hi guys,

so I've had my car for about 6 months now, e92 325i m sport lci. I've noticed recently a whine when turning the steering, and it doesn't occur for the first quarter turn of the wheel. Now me being a complete amateur (and my last car being a 1.25l fiesta) presumed it was the power steering fluid running low, I have now come to figure out, that it has electric steering, as I could not locate a reservoir. I'm aware I sound like a complete novice but can anyone advise if I am correct in my assumption, and what they suspect the cause may be. as I have no idea if this will need to be an immediate or even an expensive fix.

thanks in advance and happy xmas
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2018, 09:11 AM   #2
NathanK24
Private First Class
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2010 E90 335xi

Quote:
Originally Posted by flacon01 View Post
hi guys,

so I've had my car for about 6 months now, e92 325i m sport lci. I've noticed recently a whine when turning the steering, and it doesn't occur for the first quarter turn of the wheel. Now me being a complete amateur (and my last car being a 1.25l fiesta) presumed it was the power steering fluid running low, I have now come to figure out, that it has electric steering, as I could not locate a reservoir. I'm aware I sound like a complete novice but can anyone advise if I am correct in my assumption, and what they suspect the cause may be. as I have no idea if this will need to be an immediate or even an expensive fix.