F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > Saving my coding before dealer flash
GetBMWParts

08-04-2017, 06:58 PM   #1
jtskariah
Bud Light General
United_States
Rep
Drives: M4 CS Limerock Grey

Exclamation Saving my coding before dealer flash

Hello all!

I am installing my MPPK from the dealership on 08/18 and I have a problem. The dealer will have to flash the ECU and all my previous coding will be deleted. I had multiple basic coding done like seatbelt gongs etc done by BimmerTech and also coded LCI tail lights and LCI fog lights. I was told there was a way to save all my previous coding in a file prior to MPPK install and re install the codes after the ECU is flashed from the dealer. I am wondering if anyone knows how to do this (both the save and the re install). I am extremely new to coding so please forgive my ignorance. I have been talking to roundel on PM and he has been helping me but I thought I would make this post as well. From what I understand he was telling me to save each individual area that I plan on modifying but I am unsure what exactly is modified secondary to BimmerTech's initial coding. I have been doing some research and I found something about saving files below. Does this have anything to do with what I am trying to do?

Full backup of Car's configuration files:

It's a good practice to take a full back up of Car's original settings before any changes are made to the car. These files could be used as reference in case it is desired to go back to original settings of any or all features.

Read and Save FA:
Connect E-Sys to your car.
Select "Expert Mode" on the left pane and click on "Coding" button therein. It will display 4 sections/Boxes on the right side.
In Vehicle Order Box (upper left), click on "Read" button, it would display FA of your car under FA List.