BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > DIY Guides/ Discussions

Mporium BMW

06-12-2016, 06:24 AM   #1
CIFUM3
Captain
United_States
Rep
Drives: 08 E92 M3

Talking DIY: CAE shifter install

So I want to start off by saying that it was easier to install my ESS supercharger kit than this beautifully built shifter, mostly because I had to do everything by myself. I am by no means an expert or certified in any way. DO THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK. I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR EXTRA PARTS, BROKEN PARTS, OR BROKEN FEELINGS.
I love learning so I decided to knock this out solo, and share my experience with you guys. The lack of DIYs for this install was what stopped me from purchasing one of these a long time ago. I finally took the plunge and I couldn't be happier. I am also installing a DSSR instead of the OEM linkage, I didn't test it but I'm positive the OEM linkage will fit.

The "Before" :thumbdown

HERE WE GO
Big BIG thanks to: wrh3 his DIY for a UUC SSK helped me a lot to get down to the shifter carrier. Link to his DIY http://www.billswebspace.com/M3UUCEvo3DIY.htm

You can follow majority of his steps all the way until he takes apart the shifter from the shifter carrier. He used two screwdrivers, spinning the locking mechanism clockwise. BUTTT remove your exhaust and heat shields, you are going to want all the space to do this.
All the foam and rubber shift boots will be discarded. You will also need to trim the foam that is in the car, and cut some of the plastic off. I used a cordless dremel to do the cutting and sanding. I'll show what I did in later posts.

For this install you will have to remove the center console cover (the instructions call for the removal of the whole center console but I couldn't find a DIY, and couldn't figure it out, so I left it on. Which to me it turned out for the better because it eliminated the guessing when it came to the cutting and trimming.