F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK - Off Topic > CCTV - My Setup
GetBMWParts

12-10-2015, 03:54 PM   #1
mrbmwx3
Second Lieutenant
United Kingdom
Rep
Drives: BMW X5 30d

Garage List
CCTV - My Setup

Hi, after some request for some information regarding IP Cameras, I’ve decided to post as much info here as possible regarding the hardware and software that’s needed. I work in IT so a lot of this to me is second nature, but if there are any questions or you need me to explain something better, then let me know and I'll do my best.

Before I continue, it should be noted that the info given below, is what’s needed for my setup, it’s certainly not the only way but it works for me.

The hardware needed for my setup is listed below,
Synology NAS
IP Cameras
PoE Switch or PoE Injector
Network connectivity/ethernet cables/powerline adapters

I bought two of the following IP Cameras, HIKVision DS-2CD2032

These are outdoor cameras providing full HD recording and IR for night vision. They are also being sold under the Trendnet Brand and I think they make cameras for Swann too. However I recommend buying the HIKVision brand itself as the firmware is much more advanced and flexible. The Trendnet firmware gives you less options which I cover later on. These are also Power over ethernet (PoE) enabled which means that they can get power directly through the ethernet cable (no need for a separate power supply), in my case Cat5e. All you need is a PoE capable switch/router.