E90Post

TNT Racewerks

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > 2010 335i w/ automatic: Bad idea to track??

11-21-2015, 09:40 AM   #1
Cerberus
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: econobox

2010 335i w/ automatic: Bad idea to track??

Hey guys,

I have a stock 2010 with M sport package. Unfortunately I bought an automatic since the car is my daily driver and family car compromise. However, I want to attend two or three HPDE's a year. It's been several years since I've been out to the track, but in the past I was an intermediate driver with probably 25 track days under my belt.

I plan to upgrade the brake pads, brake fluid and that's about it. I am considering a separate set of track wheels with sticky tires and maybe refresh the suspension if I get addicted again I have read the overheating issues with the 335 on the track and I'm sure there's additional issues with the automatic on the track as well is my guess. Also the lack of LSD is a pain.

Will the occasional track event use make the car less reliable overall?

Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      11-21-2015, 07:11 PM   #2
Hpirx
First Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2022 M240 xDrive, BGM

"No time or modifications spent at the track will enhance the value of your car"
I'm paraphrasing a sign I saw at New Jersey Motorsports Park, and I think it's pretty much the truth.
That being said, BMW's seem to be pretty well capable of enjoying a few days at the track without ruining themselves. As you seem to have some experience, I think you can track your DD occasionally without jeopardizing it's integrity, just drive it safely and keep your expectations reasonable.
If it has an M sport package, doesn't it have paddle shifters? Even with a straight auto and no LSD, the fun and challenge will be to wring out every last bit of performance with good driving technique. As they say "Run what you brung!"
Enjoy!
Appreciate 0
      11-21-2015, 08:09 PM   #3