E90Post

Coby Wheel

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > e90 06xi Winter prep tips&advice?

10-04-2014, 10:21 AM   #1
paco89
Captain
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2006 325xi Arktis Metallic

e90 06xi Winter prep tips&advice?

I am currently new to the bimmer world, so far i can't complain. The car has been great to me, and i love its features. Whole different world from the japanese engineering which i was so used to. I would like to know any tips and advice to keep the car up and going during winter. I live in Minnesota, lots of snow and deadly cold weather! Any thoughts will be greatly appreciated! One of my questions is "does the push button start ever become a problem?" what i mean is, in a regular ignition with a key, as you all know if the car takes some time to start you can hold the key and keep cranking. Does that work well with the push start? does it ever become a problem? Also from experiences, how long do you guys warm it up for? I will be getting an oil change soon and wish nothing but the best this winter for everyone! I am excited to try the e90 on the snow for sure! Thanks! ***Oh btw i do have all-season tires on already with the 162style rims on, can't afford winter tires ATM, i hope the all-seasons work well.
      10-04-2014, 10:54 AM   #2
floydarogers
Curmudgeon and Pedant
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2010 335d, 2014 328d

1) The Start button is never a problem; even the diesels only hesitate a few seconds to light off the glow plugs. Just push the button and release; the computer takes care of the rest.
2) Don't idle to warm up the car. Idling wastes gas and doesn't warm the transmission and other running gear. Drive "moderately" - read the manual.
3) Everyone recommends snow tires, even on 'xi/awd cars. You'll probably be ok, but be careful especially when stopping and turning - awd only helps you get going, not in the other two.