New Ytest
Sign out
Bimmerpost
Login
BMW E39 5-Series Forum | 5Post.com
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  
Go Back   BMW E39 5-Series Forum | 5Post.com > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > General Automotive (non-BMW) Talk + Photos/Videos

09-16-2019, 07:28 AM   #1
Run Silent
Run Deep
United_States
Rep

Drives: Back and Forth To Work

Garage List
Need a little help from my Canadian friends - importing a car

So - I have some knowledge on importing a vehicle from Canada to the USA - but know nothing regarding the process the other way around.

Can anyone give me some insight or some links to website I can review?

This is for my brother in law, who is contemplating a move to Canada - location is unknown at this time, but the likely landing spot is Toronto.

Any details or recommended links or recommended reading would be appreciated. Looking for specifics regarding any tax implications, requirements for registration, import duties, import laws and safety requirements, and issues regarding resale at a later date in Canada, since the car is an American vehicle with a speedo in MPH vs. KMH.

Thanks in advance!
      09-16-2019, 08:06 AM   #2
tdott
Brigadier General
Rep

Drives: M3

I would start here:

https://www.riv.ca/ImportingAVehicle.aspx
Appreciate 0
      09-16-2019, 08:10 AM   #3
Run Silent
Run Deep
United_States
Rep

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdott View Post
Appreciate the link - do you have any direct experience? Website seems to make it appear to be a somewhat easy process, but I have my doubts.
      09-16-2019, 08:35 AM   #4
Alfisti
Brigadier General
Rep

Drives: 2008 Saab 9-3 Combi

I did it 10 years ago when a dollar was a dollar, it's slightly more complex than it looks but not too bad.