New Ytest
Sign out
Bimmerpost
Login
BMW E39 5-Series Forum | 5Post.com
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  
Go Back   BMW E39 5-Series Forum | 5Post.com > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board

04-18-2019, 10:28 AM   #1
sygazelle
Brigadier General
Rep

Drives: 2014 328i M-Sport, 2019 X5 40i

Ireland

My wife and I will be in the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland for 8 days next month. If you know the area, please share some great drives, cool B&Bs, amazing pubs or restaurants, and not-to-miss sites.

I'm renting a car at DUB and we have made zero reservations yet. I'm hoping to wing it and make the next night's reservation the day before so if we want to stay an additional day somewhere we are not constrained.

I've rented a manual transmission VW Passat and I'm looking forward to that experience. I've got plenty of right hand steering experience in England, Scotland, and New Zealand.

We've been wanting to visit this part of the world for a long time and its time!

Thanks for any suggestions.
Appreciate 0
      04-18-2019, 11:28 AM   #2
gjm120
Colonel
Rep

Drives: 2013 128i, 2021 230i

The West!! Maybe take the train from Dublin to Cork City and rent a car there. Or just make the drive over.

The Dingle, Beara and Kerry Peninsulas are all spectacular. I like Dingle the most. Go to the Cliffs of Moher and the nearby town of Doolin where there is good music in the pubs at night. Also check out the Burren.

Don't know how much time it's worth to stay in Cork City if you have limited time. County Cork is beautiful - Kinsale is nice and has good restaurants (as matter of fact there are a lot of very good restaurants in the West).

Drink Murphys or Beamish - not that Dublin stuff that is so popular. I think the only Beamish brewery is still in Cork.
      04-18-2019, 01:29 PM   #3
sygazelle
Brigadier General
Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by gjm120 View Post