Sign out
Bimmerpost
Login
BMW E39 5-Series Forum | 5Post.com
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  
Go Back   BMW E39 5-Series Forum | 5Post.com > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Video + PC Gaming / Computing

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-02-2018, 07:01 AM   #1
Never_Enough
Banned
United_States
1901
Rep
2,491
Posts

 
Drives: Satan's Chariot 2.0
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: PA

iTrader: (6)

Garage List
Thumbs down Tired of my desktop lagging

This just randomly started recently & won't go away. It sometimes lags so bad that whatever audio or video I have playing is unlistenable. It doesn't just lag when audio/video is played FYI.

I've run defrag, turned off Adobe & Anti-virus & nothing made a dent. I changed no settings & did not install anything new right before this started either. Windows 10.

What gives?
Appreciate 0
      05-02-2018, 07:09 AM   #2
TMatt
Private
United_States
28
Rep
88
Posts

 
Drives: 2016 EB M235i
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: FL

iTrader: (0)

What are the specs of your PC? Have you tried running a software like CCleaner?
Appreciate 0
      05-02-2018, 07:13 AM   #3
Never_Enough
Banned
United_States
1901
Rep
2,491
Posts

 
Drives: Satan's Chariot 2.0
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: PA

iTrader: (6)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by TMatt View Post
What are the specs of your PC? Have you tried running a software like CCleaner?
Intel i5-6400T @ 2.2ghz with 8 GB of RAM.

EDIT: Just ran CCleaner & no change.

Last edited by Never_Enough; 05-02-2018 at 07:23 AM..
Appreciate 0
      05-02-2018, 07:24 AM   #4
MightyMouseTech
Major General
MightyMouseTech's Avatar
3352
Rep
5,302
Posts

 
Drives: 13 135i 6MT LeMans Blue MSport
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Ottawa, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Maybe you have a dieing hard drive?
Appreciate 0
      05-02-2018, 08:10 AM   #5
Mikecom32
Second Lieutenant
Mikecom32's Avatar
United_States
140
Rep
281
Posts

 
Drives: '18 M4 ZCP 6MT, '05 330xi 6MT,
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

iTrader: (0)

I'd guess malware or a dying storage device.
Appreciate 0
      05-02-2018, 08:19 AM   #6
R3dliner
Lieutenant Colonel
R3dliner's Avatar
United_States
755
Rep
1,794
Posts

 
Drives: 18 M3 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: NYC

iTrader: (5)

Try reformatting with a clean install. If that doesn't do it, you might need a upgrade. Specs are pretty ancient.
Appreciate 1
Now_Rudi5362.50

      05-02-2018, 08:27 AM   #7
Never_Enough
Banned
United_States
1901
Rep
2,491
Posts

 
Drives: Satan's Chariot 2.0
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: PA

iTrader: (6)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by R3dliner View Post
Try reformatting with a clean install. If that doesn't do it, you might need a upgrade. Specs are pretty ancient.
No beuno. This is work computer
Appreciate 0
      05-02-2018, 08:28 AM   #8
Never_Enough
Banned
United_States
1901
Rep
2,491
Posts

 
Drives: Satan's Chariot 2.0
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: PA

iTrader: (6)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikecom32 View Post
I'd guess malware or a dying storage device.
I ran Malwarebytes & it didn't change anything
Appreciate 0
      05-02-2018, 08:35 AM   #9
Mikecom32
Second Lieutenant
Mikecom32's Avatar
United_States
140
Rep
281
Posts

 
Drives: '18 M4 ZCP 6MT, '05 330xi 6MT,
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Never_Enough View Post
I ran Malwarebytes & it didn't change anything
Do you have an SSD or a traditional spinning hard drive?
Appreciate 0
      05-02-2018, 08:36 AM   #10
R3dliner
Lieutenant Colonel
R3dliner's Avatar
United_States
755
Rep
1,794
Posts

 
Drives: 18 M3 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: NYC

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Never_Enough View Post
No beuno. This is work computer
try running Iobit systemcare(free version)
Another option might be to get a external SSD and clone everything over to the new drive.
Appreciate 0
      05-02-2018, 08:37 AM   #11
G35POPPEDMYCHERRY
Colonel
G35POPPEDMYCHERRY's Avatar
No_Country
1809
Rep
2,259
Posts

 
Drives: Totaled Toyota Celica :((
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Trenton, NJ

iTrader: (0)

If you are playing saved media files, then most likely hard drive is starting to fail. Although those specs are pretty shitty. I run an i7,8gb ram, SSD and have no problems. Those are my specs in a laptop, so for a desktop to have those specs, you can upgrade for cheap and make a powerhouse. Buy a SSD it will change your life
Appreciate 0
      05-02-2018, 08:38 AM   #12
Now_Rudi
I go by many names
Now_Rudi's Avatar
5363
Rep
1,172
Posts

 
Drives: Magic Carpet
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: In a cabinet

iTrader: (0)

Is submitting a trouble ticket with IT for a new pc an option?
Appreciate 2
R3dliner755.00
Hawkeye876.00

      05-02-2018, 08:40 AM   #13
R3dliner
Lieutenant Colonel
R3dliner's Avatar
United_States
755
Rep
1,794
Posts

 
Drives: 18 M3 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: NYC

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Not_Judy View Post
Is submitting a trouble ticket with IT for a new pc an option?
Best response yet
Appreciate 0
      05-02-2018, 08:44 AM   #14
Never_Enough
Banned
United_States
1901
Rep
2,491
Posts

 
Drives: Satan's Chariot 2.0
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: PA

iTrader: (6)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikecom32 View Post
Do you have an SSD or a traditional spinning hard drive?
traditional
Appreciate 0
      05-02-2018, 08:47 AM   #15
Now_Rudi
I go by many names
Now_Rudi's Avatar
5363
Rep
1,172
Posts

 
Drives: Magic Carpet
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: In a cabinet

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by R3dliner View Post
Best response yet
For a work PC I'm actually surprised he was able to run some of the warez he has. We are locked out of everything, especially installing without admin approval. If it's a larger company seemed like a no-brainer.

Also...."Have you tried turning it off and on again?"

Appreciate 1
      05-02-2018, 08:49 AM   #16
G35POPPEDMYCHERRY
Colonel
G35POPPEDMYCHERRY's Avatar
No_Country
1809
Rep
2,259
Posts

 
Drives: Totaled Toyota Celica :((
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Trenton, NJ

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Not_Judy View Post
For a work PC I'm actually surprised he was able to run some of the warez he has. We are locked out of everything, especially installing without admin approval. If it's a larger company seemed like a no-brainer.

Exactly what I was thinking. I can't do anything on my comp besides whats already on it...let alone run a virus scan
Appreciate 1
Now_Rudi5362.50

      05-02-2018, 09:08 AM   #17
Hawkeye
Brigadier General
Hawkeye's Avatar
No_Country
876
Rep
4,260
Posts

 
Drives: '07 Z4 si Coupe, '08 R6
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Iowa

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Not_Judy View Post
For a work PC I'm actually surprised he was able to run some of the warez he has. We are locked out of everything, especially installing without admin approval. If it's a larger company seemed like a no-brainer.
Same here, locked out of installing most web browsers on my work computer.

My suggestion was going to be to get a mac... the specs still run pretty fast on the iOS system (my 2011 Air has much worse and still runs ok - Those are similar specs to my newer MBP)

Sucks that this is with a work computer. Fighting IT to get replacements or upgrades is way harder than it should be... as they should be computer people and realize how much more productive you can be with a good machine.

Thankfully my company recognizes this and just upgraded (most of) the company to new Lenovo Carbon X1 and Dual/Triple 24" Monitors. i7-6600 and 16GB of ram. Much more similar weight/speed compared to apple that I contemplated actually buying a Carbon for my personal computer instead of the new MBP I got.

Having said all that... I have no suggestions for you aside from bribing your IT/Facilities for a newer machine.
__________________
2007 Z4 3.0si Coupe • 6 MT • Black Saphire Metallic • PP • SP • Heated M Seats • Clutch Stop • Stubby
2008 R6 • Raven Black • GPR Steering Stabilizer • Comp Werks FE • Hotbodies Flush Mount Blinkers
2016 GMC Sierra SLT Z71 Premium Plus 4x4 • K&N CAI • Toyo G2 LT305/55R20
Appreciate 1
Now_Rudi5362.50

      05-02-2018, 09:13 AM   #18
M2Rush
First Lieutenant
Canada
81
Rep
353
Posts

 
Drives: 2014 BSM 335i x-drive
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: The 6

iTrader: (1)

Ccleaner & Malwarebytes as a combo worked wonders for every single computer I've ever used. Run them every couple months and it should be smooth sailing. However, sometimes when computers go on a while, they start to accumulate many conflicting registry files. You may need to clean registry too but this part is a pain, many people just resort to reformat at this point. Finally, it may be hardware related, have you ran a hard drive test? Defraging the HD may help.
Appreciate 0
      05-02-2018, 09:16 AM   #19
jeveryday
Colonel
jeveryday's Avatar
United_States
70
Rep
2,330
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 535i xDrive
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Long Island, New York

iTrader: (6)

As an end user their isnt much you can do, I would just contact IT and tell them whats going on.

There's also a possibility the lags are due to something IT may be running behind the scenes i.e updates, scans or any type of patch management.
Appreciate 0
      05-02-2018, 09:34 AM   #20
Never_Enough
Banned
United_States
1901
Rep
2,491
Posts

 
Drives: Satan's Chariot 2.0
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: PA

iTrader: (6)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by M2Rush View Post
Ccleaner & Malwarebytes as a combo worked wonders for every single computer I've ever used. Run them every couple months and it should be smooth sailing. However, sometimes when computers go on a while, they start to accumulate many conflicting registry files. You may need to clean registry too but this part is a pain, many people just resort to reformat at this point. Finally, it may be hardware related, have you ran a hard drive test? Defraging the HD may help.
I've cleaned the registry already as well & already defragged the HD per my OP
Appreciate 0
      05-02-2018, 09:43 AM   #21
nomade30
Private First Class
120
Rep
177
Posts

 
Drives: 18 M2, 91 325, 05 DMAX
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: UT

iTrader: (0)

Get an SSD, Windows doesn’t accommodate for spiny disks anymore and will use a shit load of storage I/O for antivirus, updates, and indexing.
Appreciate 0
      05-02-2018, 10:24 AM   #22
Ric in RVA
Bergspyder
Ric in RVA's Avatar
United_States
506
Rep
700
Posts

 
Drives: '11 BMW 128i Sport 6mt
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Richmond VA

iTrader: (0)

OOOPPPPS spilled my coffee into it....(kidding)
__________________
Ric in RVA

2011 128i 6 MT Sport, 10 Land Rover LR4, 02 Mini Cooper S (for sale!), 2011 528i N52, Sequoia, Excursion, a few motorcycles.
Appreciate 1
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 AM.




5post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST